User Tools

Site Tools


Sidebar

ISC'20

The IO-500 and the Virtual Institute of I/O

Date Thursday, June 18th
Time 16:00 BST, 08:00 US pacific, 11:00 US eastern, 23:00 CST (China)
Venue Virtual, details to be announced

Impact of COVID-19: The release of the list will take place regardless of ISC canceling BoF sessions.

This is the periodic ISC'20 list release but earlier than the ISC-HPC conference when we typically release the list to prevent conflict with their digital program.

Abstract

The IO500 is quickly becoming the de facto benchmarking standard for HPC storage. Developed two years ago, the IO500 has released two official lists so far. A BoF highlight is the presentation of the fourth IO-500 list.

The general purpose of this BoF is to foster the IO500 and VI4IO communities to ensure forward progress towards the common goals of creating, sharing, and benefiting from a large corpus of shared storage data. We also serve as a repository of detailed information about the production storage system architectures over time as a knowledge base for other researchers and system designers to use.

Goals of the BoF are to 1) reveal the current IO-500 list and provide highlights and insight; 2) advertise the community hub but also discuss and steer the direction of the community effort; 3) to discuss the benefit and direction of the efforts within the community.

The IO-500 benchmark consists of data and metadata benchmarks to identify performance boundaries for optimized and suboptimal applications. Together with comprehensive data from sites, supercomputers, and storage, in-depth analysis of system characteristics are tracked by the list and can be analyzed. In contrast to other lists, the IO-500 collects the execution scripts for providing means of result verification and sharing best practices for data centers.

Goals of the Virtual Institute for I/O are:

  • Provide a platform for I/O researchers and enthusiasts for exchanging information
  • Foster international collaboration in the field of high-performance I/O
  • Track, and encourage, the deployment of large storage systems by hosting information about high-performance storage systems

Expected HPC audience are 1) I/O experts from data centers and industry, 2) researchers/engineers working on high-performance I/O for data centers, 3) domain scientists and computer scientists interested in discussing I/O issues.

The outcome of this BoF will steer the direction of the community efforts.

Agenda

We will have a series of interactive talks and discussions. Details will be announced soon.